Email Us:

Services



Kiddush Wine and Cup

Cheltenham is a traditional synagogue and services follow the Ashkenazi minhag.

 

Normally, Shabbat services are held throughout the year on Friday evenings, usually at 7.00 pm, followed by a Kiddush,  Saturday morning services are held from time to time. There are occasional Friday evening services where some English explanation is given to which guests are invited.

 

Significant festivals, holidays and other important events in 2021 are as listed below. Note that the Jewish day begins the evening before and ends after sunset..

 

With the current COVID-19 pandemic most services are online but not during Shabbat or Festivals. 

For further details, please contact our Secretary at info@cheltenhamsynagogue.org.uk:

2021/5781-82

National Holocaust Memorial Day                Cheltenham's Act of Remembrance

Wednesday 27 January  6.30 pm online

All are welcome.

Tu B'Shevat  New Year for Trees

28 January

Purim Friday 26 February
Pesach

1st Seder Night  Saturday 27 March

Last Day Saturday 4 April

Yom Hashoah in the UK

Thursday 8 April

Yom HaZikaron    Israeli Memorial Day Wednesday 4 April
Yom HaAtzmaut  Israeli Independence Day Thursday 15 April
Lag B'Omer Friday 30 April
Shavuot Monday 17 May,Tuesday 18 May
Tish B'Av             Fast of Av Sunday 18 July
Rosh Hashanah

1st Day - Tuesday 7 September

2nd Day - Wednesday 8 September

Yom Kippur Thursday 16 September
Succot 1st Day Tuesday 21 September

 

Simchat Torah Wednesday 29 September
Chanukah

First candle to be lit the evening of Sunday 28 November

Last day Monday 6  December


Most of our services are led by lay members of the community, although a Minister is usually invited for the Yom Tovim.